The Magic about Horses

In my recent posts I have written a lot about horseback riding, the treatment of the horses, and new innovations. Now I would like to concentrate on that fascinating animal behind the sport, which engages in that magical relationship between horse and rider.In my recent posts I have written a lot about horseback riding, the treatment of the horses, and new innovations. Now I would like to concentrate on that fascinating animal behind the sport, which engages in that magical relationship between horse and rider.

 

Our Old Companion

When you look back in history you can see that horses have very early started to be a part of our life. They have served a variety of practical purposes to mankind besides developing a special bond to humans. Nowadays their main function lies more in the competitive sport sector and simply being a woman’s best friend, although there are still some horses serving practical purposes, such as carrying goods, pulling carriages, or walking around as a police horse.

A Special Relationship

Relationships can be very different as stated by Anna Mae Gold. There are formal, business relationships, personal and responsibility related relationships, and so on. Considering the horse-human relationship, there are no clear goals (unless individually set) but it offers a great opportunity for learning. It is somehow similar to the parent-child relationship, for a domestic horse relies on the daily care of a human. Furthermore it is hierarchical because the horse is expected to follow the lead of the human for training and safety purposes. And last but not least it is an inter-species relationship, which means that we need to overcome barriers in communication to interact with the horse.

Being a Leader

Training horses is not always easy, but as Sarah Myles says, it is far easier once you realize that they don’t always react the same way you would expect a person would react. To adequately lead your horse you need to establish a basis of trust and respect between the two of you. Patience and consistency are also very important. And horses go with the crowd rather than stand alone, which can be an advantage for you when establishing your leader position.

Looking Forward

Now, I believe this has already been a lot of input and I would like you to keep this in mind looking forward to my next post. For there is still a lot to discover on this subject, I will continue working on it and trying to concentrate on projecting this relationship onto the business world. So keep your eyes open for my next post.

Very lovely pictures by Astrid Harrisson: http://www.astridharrisson.com/2012/01/04/2011-the-review/

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Hi Anne!
    I have to admit I haven’t been on spogging for a while now but just now I tumbled over it once again. I am not that interested in sports but believe it or not I am an animal-lover. Horses, however, are not my thing…
    Nevertheless, I think you have chosen your resume of this animal very wisely looking at different aspects such as the relationship to humans. I think this post is very great since it focuses on aspects that can applied to more animals than just this one. as you highlighted, I think the species barrier is a very important one.
    Check this out:http://horses-arizona.com/pages/articles/psychology.html
    I would love to read more from you about that!

    Reply
  2. Mighty fine article, and brilliant link in Katharina’s response … it reads like 100 years of public agriculture education, a gold mine of experience in the handling of horses!

    Reply
  3. very nice post, i certainly love this website, keep on it

    Reply
  4. This post can be so so true! Why have I not thought of the before?!

    Reply
  1. More than just a Friend « spogging

Leave a Reply

