Feel the difference and relieve yourself of stress

In our current society stress is a common phenomenon. I have been under stress for the last week or at least I felt uneasy. It`s a terrible feeling even more when falling into sleep is extremely problematic. I am not relaxed at all since thousands of thoughts are on my mind.

But what happened that I feel that way, which I haven’t felt for a long period of time? I think I know what happened!

I have to admit that I haven’t been out for a run for almost three weeks now, due to leg issues. Additionally there were holiday in Germany, which means that there were no Yoga and Pilates classes at University; I usually attend. Thus, I didn’t do sport for a while now.

Why I go out running?

You can go for a run for various reasons, but for me it is mainly because of stress relief and to over come my uneasiness. For me, doing sports in general and running in particular has a great impact on my well-being and helps me to calm down and to handle my daily life easily. I think everyone who has ever been working out, knows what I mean. If you more interested in in this topic I recommend Alina’s post about emotions in sports.

What happens to your body during/after a run?

There are several studies that reveal that especially running can relief stress (but I think any sport can do). On hattie gallery one explains very well that you can “escape all of your frustration, disappointment, and aggravation.“ Doing sport for just 30 minutes will be enough to release you from stress and make you feel better. Regularity is very important as AyoubSouder162 states. You should work out for at least 3 times a week, than you will definitely feel the effect:

Not just would you feel better after having a run, you’ll actually always be less susceptible to feeling the effects of stress in the next days.

During a run or rather during any work out a lot biochemical things happen in your body and brain that causes stress release.

Work out releases endorphins, which can make the mind and your mood calmer.

According to John Elder “exercise promotes blood and oxygen flow, and the more blood and oxygen you have running through your body, the healthier and happier“ you are, since more oxygen is transported to you brain and this „dynamic prompts an increase in levels of hormones responsible for curtailing stress and boosting mood, while at the same time prompting the establishment of new nerve cells and synapse flexibility.“

Thus, every time you are doing exercise you “refresh” your brain. Besides stress relief you are getting more productive at work (at leased I think so). You will be a calm and balanced employee, manager, or leader etc. that suddenly has new energy and new ideas.

Therefore go for it and run or what ever you prefer and be a happier and healthier person whom nothing can throw track!

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Mirja Stoldt

     /  2012/01/07

    I believe this is a very important topic for us students, especially after realizing that distraction and doing something for yourself can be very important.

    It is a great idea providing a solution to stress and perhaps including some time for yourself. Time and Stress Management can be very difficult at times, but your post is a great motivation to change something in your life.

    Your post is very well written and you managed to summarize such an expansive topic in a very orderly, comprehensive and short way that makes it very attractive to read.

    Reply
  2. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

    Reply
  3. Hello. I basically need to actually place a quick remark and also inform you recognize that in fact I’ve been following your blog page for quite some time. Keep up the very tremendous work and I’m going to be checking again once more relatively quickly.

    Reply
  4. I actually wanted to compose a small note to thank you for some of the pleasant secrets you are showing on this website.

    Reply
  5. I entirely like this post! If it’s not too much trouble write another.

    Reply
  6. It was a very nice idea! Just wanna say thank you for the information you have diffused. Just continue composing this kind of post. I will be a loyal reader, thanks a lot.

    Reply
  7. Great article Julia! Even though it was short, the Aha-effect I got out of your article is huge. Being a member of the fitness club, I am doing sports twice a week. To be honest, the unpleasant weather and the uni stress at the moment even make me skip sports sometimes. However, after having read your article, I realized how important sports can be to relief stress. Therefore, I got great motivation and from now on I will try to do sports at least 3 times a week, despite of the uni stress.
    If you intend to focus more on your passion for jogging, I would highly recommend you to check out the following link about benefits of jogging:
    http://www.carryfitness.com/jogging-benefits/

    Reply
    • juliajogs

       /  2012/02/10

      Thank you for passing by and sharing your thoughts with me. I think right now I am the best example for stress relief. Since I am practicing for Berlin Half-Marathon, I go out for a run 4 times a week. I searched for a training schedule that would help me to prepare. I found it here “ http://www.runnersworld.com/ ”, which is a great platform for all runners. The schedule covers 10 weeks and I am in week 4. Thus, you can say I run through all the exams at university. I really feel the difference. I felt almost stress-free and most important I am –somehow- happier. I have liked running for more then 5 years, but running 4x a week is even better then doing it occasionally and now I love it. Concluding from this: Consistency is the key!

      Reply
  8. Valuable information. Lucky me I found your site by accident, and I’m shocked why this accident did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

    Reply
  9. Great web site. A lot of useful info here. I’m sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks for your effort!

    Reply
  10. Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!

    Reply
  11. I am writing to make you understand of the extraordinary encounter my daughter undergone reading yuor web blog. She noticed a wide variety of pieces, not to mention what it is like to possess an amazing coaching character to let the others smoothly master a number of specialized matters. You undoubtedly did more than my desires. I appreciate you for coming up with these practical, safe, edifying as well as cool thoughts on your topic to Jane.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

