Social TV

Many people love going to the stadium, to watch their favorite team play. All dressed up, with a beer in their hand, flags, scarves and just enjoying the atmosphere of the game. Others prefer to rather stay at home and watch the game on their TV with popcorn and in their warm and cozy living room, without being soaked with beer during the ecstasy of a goal and ending up deaf because of the loud cheering. For the “coach-potatoes” there is a new innovation called Social TV.

What is Social TV?

James Warren describes Social TV as the “ mass online collaborative experienced that occur in real time during TV broadcasts, extending the viewing experience beyond the google box and towards interaction with the social media.”

It is nothing new following a game via Facebook or Twitter. Whether following a game via TV or Livestream doesn’t matter, anymore says Julian Gradke.

The video below is an example of Social TV during the Copa America Soccer Tournament.

According to Julian Gradke, there might be a time when Smartphones and Tablet PC’s completly replace the TV, by simply following the sport over Facebook or Twitter.

New Innovations

An example for Social TV is the Application Zeebox in the UK, presented by Blogger Martin Bryant. Zeebox combines a UK TV guide with social features. You can log in with Facebook and see what your friends are watching and when celebrities talk about a show or program on twitter. Once you tap on the show can see the cast list, the latest tweets and news about it and a chart tracking popularity.

Here the Promo Video of Zeebox:

My opinion

Social TV can be a nice possibility to follow your team and live your passion where ever you are; whether on the train, waiting for the bus etc. But personally I think I wouldn’t be to fond of it. Firstly, because everybody wouldn’t get their nose away from their smartphone or tablet PC and secondly because the relaxation of sitting on the couch and enjoying a nice game of soccer while others are running around like crazy would be lost.

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Intriguing post. Positive that Ill come back here. Good function. 805161

    Reply
  2. It’s hard to seek out educated folks on this subject, however you sound like you understand what you’re speaking about! Thanks

    Reply
  3. Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is actually frustrating. A good blog with exciting content, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this web site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Cant find it.

    Reply
    • Mirja Stoldt

       /  2012/01/08

      I’m sorry in the moment we don’t have newsletters, but it is a great idea perhaps we should try it. Thank you.

      Reply
  4. Ola! Mirjastoldt,
    Maybe a little off topic, however, Are the Republicans willing to sell their souls to the corporations and if so at any cost? Are 10’s of millions if not hundreds of millions in personal networth not enough to quench the thirst of the greedy politicians doing the dirty work of the 1% of top wage earners in this country? This was once a country I was once proud of, now I see it as a shameful beauracracy let by corporate America and an all out war on the middle and low class. Only so much more blood to bleed.
    BTW great blogpost

    Reply
  5. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Superb work!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much. No we didn’t hire a developer for our site, it is a project we did for our Business Applications course at University. The theme is a wordpress default theme called “Comet”.

      Reply
  6. Hi there, I found your site via Google even as searching for a related subject, your website came up, it seems to be great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Reply
  7. I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a gem in your new posts

    Reply
  8. wonderful issues altogether, you simply gained a brand new reader. What might you recommend in regards to your post that you just made a few days ago? Any positive?

    Reply
  9. no hassle loans

     /  2012/02/15

    oh cool, this information is really useful and definately is comment worthy! hehe. I’ll see if I can try to use some of this information for my own blog. Thanks!
    http://paydaysbank.com/p/payday/key/no+hassle+loans+/

    Reply
  10. Thanks for your post. I am going to definitely be using these types of ideas and thinking more and more about what I am really doing right with my YouTube accounts dedicated to some of the ideas you have mentioned. My partner is also considering the way it would be if I launched a blog discussing some of the same issues you have dealt with here. Many thanks showing me that thing so obvious. I had been blinded from it. Your post has truly made an impact on the way I think about my own work and ideas also.

    Reply
  11. adobe creative suite design premium

     /  2012/02/16

    Im not sure why but this weblog is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end? Ill check back later on and see if the problem still exists.
    http://buyoemsoftwareonline.com/adobe-creative-suite-3-design-premium-for-win.php

    Reply
  12. Thanks for some other informative web site. Where else could I am getting that kind of information written in such an ideal means? I’ve a undertaking that I am simply now working on, and I’ve been at the look out for such information.

    Reply
  1. Social TV | Automatic Content recognition | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

