Social Networks in Sport

While I was busy researching my next blog post about branding in sport I fell over so many discussions about social networks and sport, that I decided to dedicate an own post to that topic and to squeeze in a post about the impact of social networks on sports first.

I would like to refer to Alina’s Blogpost “Social Platforms and Sport” as she introduces the topic Social Networks in Sport, which is a great base for my following blogpost.

Emotionalizing the Sport is the Main Issue

According to Daniel Rehn, in his Blog sportmanager.de, the objective of Social Networks in Sport is to make the athletes and teams reachable, emotionalize and create a familiar atmosphere.

That is the main objective of Social Media; to include the fans into the daily activities of the team and make them feel like they are a part of the team.

Fans are the most important thing for every sport, so the athletes have to attract the fans and give something back to them; an insight into their life, how they train and what motivates them. But embracing themselves can also lead to scandals and of course involvement by the athletes leads to involvement by the fans, not everybody can cope with it. Staying authentic, differentiating oneself from others and staying interesting turns into a game, is said in Daniel Rehn’s post “Die Vier am Eck – Gedanken zu Social Media und Sport #16”.

So the main question, according to Andy Pawlowski, should be: “What is it that we see and hear that we can offer to others so that they connect with us and feel what we feel, even when they aren’t physically with us?”

An astonishing Example

One case really astonished me and gave an insight on how far social media are influencing sport already. According to Daniel Rehn, a mexican first league soccer team replaced the names of their players with their twitter nicknames. Another example is FC Valencia that replaced the logo of a missing sponsor with their Twitter Channel.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. hi mirja!
    i feel flattered that you referred to my post and in my eyes you did quite a good job digging a little bit deeper into that topic.
    teamspirit, when it comes to team sport such as football, is the most important aspect, completely agree with Rehn!
    Maybe pertaining to a wider range of social networks would have been nice or being more sceptical about this whole thing (which you certainly hint at with eg scandals).
    merry christmas 🙂

    Reply
  2. That is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your wonderful post. Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

    Reply
  3. Hey. Extremely nice web website!! Man .. Outstanding .. Fantastic .. I�ll bookmark this web website and take the feeds also�I am happy to locate so a lot useful info here within the write-up. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for this post. I don’t know a large number of links to forums but my friends seem to be able to spend a lot of time on them that’s for sure.

    Reply
  5. crazyly insightful story. If only it was as easy to implement some of the solutions as it was to scan and nod my head at each of your points

    Reply
  6. Great web site! I actually really really enjoy just how it’s very easy with this little brown eyes and the facts are well written. We’re asking yourself how I may perhaps be recommended any time a fresh article has been produced. I have subscribed to a person’s feed which often should do the secret! Have a very good attractive time!

    Reply
  7. Hi there. Just needed to make a brief comment and ask where you grabbed your particular website graphics I might be starting own web publication and honestly really like your specific graphics.

    Reply
  8. I’d have to check with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

